Skip to content

P2L – It’s called a “Numeronym”

December 2, 2011

I have been told by my partner, Om Malik (@OM) that I need to be more vocal and blog more. I’ll paraphrase his comment, but something to the effect that “If you are on the Board of Directors of Automattic and you don’t blog, then you don’t deserve to be there”. Om is known for his decidedly strong opinions. I think I might be a lost cause if it wasn’t for the mobile revolution and the wonderful iOS, Android and Blackberry clients that Automattic have created. So, henceforth, I’ll be more vocal and I’ll blog, but it will be primarily on the mobile client which will go down in my mind as the breakout product of the year for Automattic.

For this first post, I thought I would tell the funny story about a new ‘handle’ I am using along with MrVelvet. (MrVelvet is a good story for another whole post just to itself.) P2L – It’s called a “Numeronym.” Those are the words that Matt Mullenweg used to tell me that there was no typo in a presentation, just a bit of ignorance on my end. Numeronyms are used for long words or phrases that are just a pain in the ass to write. i18n is the numeronym for ‘Internationalization’, m10n for monetization etc… It’s a little tongue in cheek, but P2L is just perfect for Phil!
P2L

From → Musings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

